Big C, Part Three: Donuts to the rescue

July 27, 2013 § 16 Comments

Only one person gets up for me at 4:30 AM. It’s not my wife and certainly not my kids. On Sunday morning, legs still aching from the Donut thrashing the day before, I drove over to rendezvous with Surfer Dan.

He was standing on the street corner, bike and knapsack at the ready.

“You want coffee?” I asked.

“No, I’m good.”

“You hungry?”

“I’ve already eaten.”

We jammed our two bikes into the Prius and headed south. “Any predictions for MMX’s birthday ride?”

“Yep.”

“Let’s hear ‘em.”

“Only one, actually. It’s going to hurt. A lot.”

After half an hour on the deserted freeway I noticed that Dan’s hands were shaking. “You sure you don’t want any coffee?”

“No, I’m fine. Thanks.”

“You gotta be hungry.”

“No, I’m not. What about you? If you want to stop, it’s fine with me.”

“Oh, no. I’m fine. I had coffee and yogurt and oatmeal and fruit before I left. I’m full as a tick. Couldn’t eat another bite.”

“Okay, then.”

I was getting more nervous about the ride. “So how bad do you think it will be?”

Dan reflected for a moment. “I’m guessing that on a scale of one to ten, it will be on a different scale.”

No doom impends like the doom of a horrific beating on the bike. “What’s with these fucking North County rides? Why are they so hard? And why do we keep going down to them?”

“They’re fun!”

One thing I liked about Dan is that he thought bike riding was fun no matter what. One thing I hated about Dan is that he thought bike riding was fun no matter what. “What’s fun about getting your head staved in?”

“Oh, it’s not just that. There’ll be a big group. The ride will start so fast that half will quit in the first hour. Then we’ll get pummeled up hill and down dale for the next three hours. It’ll be a blast.”

We drove a little longer. “You sure you don’t want any coffee or food?”

“Nope.”

“Me, either. Plus I hate fast food. That stuff is nasty.”

“Yeah, I hate it too.”

“All those chemicals.”

“Pink slime.”

“Did you know they put arsenic in McChicken?” I said, outraged.

“Fucking gross.”

“I know.”

“Can’t even believe people eat that shit. It’s so bad for you.”

“Yep. And their breakfasts are just as nasty. Stuff is made in a trash compactor, spray painted, and doused in chemical smells to make you think you’re eating real food.”

“It’s a pretty messed up society we live in, eating industrialized food like that,” Dan agreed.

We drove a little longer.

“You need to take a leak?” I asked.

“I’m okay.”

“I need to take a leak. Let’s pull into this McDonald’s.”

“There’s no Mac here.”

“Sure there is. Exit Pico and it’s about a quarter mile down on the right.”

“How’d you know that?”

“I, uh, have to take a leak a lot on the way back from San Diego.” We pulled into the parking lot and went in. “Man, that sure smells good,” I said. “I mean, it smells good for nasty industrial chemical shit.”

“Does, doesn’t it?”

“Let’s get something to eat,” I said.

“Might as well. It’s gonna be a long day.”

We each ordered two sausage, egg, and cheese McGriddles (550 kcal x 2), hash browns (150 kcal), a sausage burrito (300 kcal), a small nonfat yogurt to keep it healthy, and we split a tub of cinnamon McMelts. We washed it all down with a large coffee and then ambled off to the toilets where whole sections of bathroom tile were blown off the walls.

Welcome to Leucadia Donut Shoppe

We got to Encinitas way early and had nothing to do. “You ready for some more coffee?” I asked.

“No, I’m good.”

“Me, too. Do you like donuts?” I asked.

“Love ‘em. But I’m stuffed.”

“Me, too. Leucadia has the best donuts in SoCal.”

“Really?”

“Really. They’re sold out by eight o’clock. But I’m stuffed.”

“Yeah, if I eat another bite I’ll bust. Where is it?” Dan was curious and we had nothing else to do.

“Just up the road. We can swing by so you’ll know it for next time.”

“Cool.”

We drove by. The windows were down and fresh donut smells wafted into the car. “I’m fucking stuffed, Dan.”

“Me, too.”

“You should check the inside of this place out, though. It’s awesome.”

“Sure. Let’s do it.”

We went in just as the fellow who ran the place was bringing out a fresh tray of golden glazed donuts. “How may I help you?” he asked.

“One glazed for me. And one for him. And a couple of cinnamon, and two chocolate old fashioneds.”

“And an apple fritter!” Dan added, with a little fleck of drool coming out of the corner of his mouth.

“And an apple fritter.”

We sat out on the patio and ate the donuts. “I feel sick,” I said.

“Me, too,” said Dan.

“What were we thinking?”

“I’m not sure we were.”

“Looks like it’s about time to ride.”

We drove over to RIDE Cyclery in Encinitas. There were about sixty warriors milling around. They all looked ill-tempered, as if they’d been forced to get up early and the only thing that would make them feel better was to smush a pair of weak and overfed L.A. cyclists into a bloody pulp.

“Hi, guys!” I said cheerily. “Gonna be a fun day, huh?”

Everyone looked at me like I was crazy. Brent stuck his head out of the shop. “There’s bagels and cream cheese and coffee if you guys are hungry.”

I looked at Dan. Dan looked at me. “I’m fricking sick from those donuts,” I said.

“Me, too.”

“But let’s at least go in to be polite.”

“Okay.”

Inside the shop was a big platter of poppy seed bagels and cream cheese with jam and coffee. We each had a bagel.

“All right,” we heard MMX say outside. “Time to ride.”

Things were suddenly not looking very good.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 16 Responses to Big C, Part Three: Donuts to the rescue

  • Billius says:

    Where is the Donut shoppe in Encinitas? I need something sugary to fend off my Sculpin hangover and The Union doesn’t open until 9am…

    • Admin says:

      It’s in Leucadia, south of Leucadia Blvd. on PCH. It is so awesomely good your teeth will melt in your mouth. Raja Black would ride from LA for a box of these puppies if he knew how good they were. Get the cinnamon. And the old-fashioned. And the glazed. And the fritter. And then go back and have one of everything else. You will say to me, while writhing in the throes of your broken tummy, “Thank you, WM.”

      • Billius says:

        Cheers, I’ll check out the fritters! Btw met a girl going up Haleakala who asked ‘Does WankMeister known you are doing this?’ (on your pogo-stick)

      • Admin says:

        I hope you said “Who?”

  • dan martun says:

    I sat down for a quick bite with SD the other day after an ez 10 mile ride to check out the waves. I ordered arrived consisting of my standard 2 gluten free pancakes and 3 egg whites. 5 minutes later our server and two others arrived each carrying 2 plates for SD. Plate 1 had a veggy omlet, 2 a plie of potatoes, 3 a massive stack of pancakes, 4 a plate of fruit, 5 toast and butter, 6 a half gallon of syrup and napkins. I finished eating my snack in 10 minutes and spent the next 15 watching SD consume enough calories to feed my family for a weekend.

  • JP says:

    Well, there goes that calorie deficit you had going….we’ll see what happens in 4.

  • GrumblyOldguy says:

    The Do-nut Man in Glendora, near the base of GMR has fresh strawberry donuts that can be dangerously good. The fresh peach filled ones are enough put people into orbit….

  • Stefanovich says:

    tom sells sticky bumps also – they’re right there atop the fridge

  • channel_zero says:

    What? No Randy’s Donut? Outrageous!

  • So JN brings a dozen donuts to San Marcos yesterday…and muffins. Coincidence? Hardly…damn WM…

Donate a few seconds of your life that you'll never get back

What’s this?

You are currently reading Big C, Part Three: Donuts to the rescue at Cycling in the South Bay.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 807 other followers

