The best water I ever drank

October 5, 2015 § 20 Comments

I used to live in the northern part of the Texas Panhandle, up by the Canadian River breaks in the town of Miami, population 588, largest and only town in a county of more than a thousand square miles. The country was rugged and its beauty took getting used to, and I suppose some people never got used to it, including some of those who had lived there for generations.

The people were inward looking, they stuck together, they suffered strangers when it suited them, and there was no problem they couldn’t blame on the government or cure through prayer. Yet they had a hard humanity about them too, and would help you whether you deserved it or not because you were a person and they knew that sooner or later every human gets in a bind and needs a hand.

The bike rides up there were the loneliest I have ever done. The minimal distance was 25 miles, a big square from Miami south up the big hill, out of the breaks and onto the plains, then after six ramrod straight miles a left, then after another six straight miles another left, and then you’d drop back down into the breaks and make another left onto the highway, and it was six miles back to town.

It was lonely out there and not just because in twenty-five miles you’d see one car, sometimes less. There were a handful of old barns stuck out on the plains, collapsing wooden ghosts moored to the earth, reminders of things that had begun big and gradually been worn into defeat by time and money and the wind.

And nothing was lonelier than that prairie wind. It rarely blew less than twenty miles an hour, and big winds of thirty or forty weren’t rare; those were the days that you just stayed indoors. By yourself, the occasional hawk seated high on a utility pole, the ferocious wind trying to blow you to a standstill, no cars, no people, pushing the pedals as hard as you could to make it to the turn where you’d at least have a vicious crosswind rather than a headwind … those were hard and lonely rides.

For variety it only got worse. You could cut over to Old Mobeetie and come back via Canadian, a solid seventy miles of solitude, or you could go north through the breaks and circle back through Pampa for a similar distance that was slower because of the hills. I often believed that nothing good ever came out of any of those rides. No good friendships, no good experiences, no good memories, nothing but wind and heat, or wind and biting cold, numb slogs that gave nothing, left nothing, meant nothing.

One hot summer day before I left to do the Pampa loop the first time, my neighbor rolled down the window in his air-conditioned pickup. “It’s too hot for that,” he said.

“You’re probably right.”

“And you ain’t got near enough water.”

“I have two bottles,” I replied, pointing to the bike.

“I got eyes, but you ain’t getting to Pampa on no two water bottles, and there ain’t a drop in between here and there.”

“Have a good day, Clyde,” I said.

He nodded and rolled up the window; I rode off.

Twenty-five miles in I was out of water and it was over a hundred degrees. I hit a sublime level of thirst, desert thirst. I passed a stock tank with cattle crowded around it and thought about trekking the two hundred yards into the field, but it would be filled with goatheads, the water wouldn’t be potable, and the bulls might gore me.

I pedaled on, ten miles to go before I hit the outskirts of Pampa. The wind was hot and relentless and in my face, sucking me completely and terminally dry. Not a car passed, not a truck, and nothing but fields.

After forever I saw a farm house. It was at the end of a drive that was itself about a quarter mile long. I pedaled down it, caked in dust and dirt and my tongue swollen like a giant bone-dry pickle. There was a truck at the end of the drive, so I dismounted and knocked on the door.

An old boy opened it and looked through the screen as if every afternoon a cyclist stopped by out here in a part of the world where I’d never even seen another bicycle. “Yes?” he asked.

“Could I get some water from your hose?”

“I suppose so,” he said.

I walked over to the side of the house where the green hose was perfectly coiled. I turned on the tap and out spurted a jet of boiling hot water. I let the hot water run out and waited a few seconds until it turned from hot to ice cold. Then I turned the nozzle into my mouth and drank from it, deeply.

No draught of water ever tasted that good before. Or since.

END

————————

For $2.99 per month you can subscribe to this blog and be thankful you’re out of the wind. Click here and select the “subscribe” link in the upper right-hand corner. Thank you!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 20 Responses to The best water I ever drank

  • dangerstu says:

    Thanks for sharing

  • Joe C says:

    Old Mobeetie, haven’t thought of that in years. Thought I was going to die of thirst on a hike from the Boy Scout camp to there.

  • sibex9591 says:

    Reminds me of riding in the Mojave desert. Not as bleak as you describe but civilization seemed to occur every 10-15 miles and we had four water bottles each. Yet, by the time we reached the next postage stamp of human habitation we had consumed every drop and needed refills.

    I recall one moment when we were passing a small sign that cast about a2x5 shadow on the ground and we scrunched into that shadow just to escape the sun for 5 minutes.

    At the end of one day we reached Mountain Home, and collapsed on the porch of a property owned by an old gay couple that ran a hair salon out there. After I awoke, had obviously passed out from a minor heart condition, the owners had come out and offered us a comfortable bed and a great meal for the night. We accepted gleefully, or as gleefully as two dehydrated, heat stroked young men could express it.

  • Mike Hancock says:

    You should go back and make a deal with that kid to bottle the water. Texas panhandle craft water. You’ll make a fortune.

    • fsethd says:

      Boone Pickens cornered that market while I was living there.

    • Todd says:

      “Old boy” in TX means something entirely different than an “old boy” in other parts of the country. What a perfect phrase to create the picture of an entire person, even his personality. Well done.

  • hoggel says:

    I know that place and those people. Except in Montana, where I grew up, when it was hot it was about 20 degrees cooler than Texas.

    Ah, … water! When I was 16 I was working on a ranch. I was drilling haylage mix driving an old Moline tractor. It was a dusty job so I wore a bandana over my nose and mouth. At the end of the day the world was framed by the dust that had turned to mud on my eyelashes. One day I was working a field about a mile from the ranch headquarters so I drove out on a small ford tractor. After lunch at the shop I forgot to take my two gallon water jug out to the field with me. I didn’t think I should go back for it because it would take about forty minutes. By the time I was to be done drilling for the day my mouth was about pasted shut and all I wanted in the world was a drink of water. I headed back to the shop bouncing along at full throttle. As I was going through the shop yard I tried to spit out some of the paste and only got about half of it out of my mouth. I looked down to see where on me it landed and ran into a wagon that was parked up on blocks. The wagon was knocked off the blocks and made a lot of noise but didn’t damage anything. Everyone came running out of the shop to see what had happened. I told the rancher the story about no water. He said something like, “Don’t die or damage my equipment to save an hour. Go get a drink.”

  • Worldchamp says:

    Funny how everyone seems to have a “no water” story. Mine was in the middle of the night, on a train, in India. The only water available was the train water. Did I say I was in INDIA? Where you don’t drink ANY water that’s not from a bottle and certainly not water out of a cistern hugging the belly of a train! But my month was completely void of moisture and I was sure I would die of dehydration, even though, intellectually, I knew I had two plus days before I would actually die. After several hours, I thought “Dare I take a swig of the train water?” I did… a sip… and I didn’t die, but I knew better than to take another sip. I drank a LARGE bottle as soon as the train stopped the next morning. It wasn’t cold or particularly delicious, but it was from a bottle and VERY satisfying!

  • LesB says:

    Reminds me of this:

  • Scott Spears says:

    “collapsing wooden ghosts moored to the earth”. Very well written. Thank you!

What’s this?

You are currently reading The best water I ever drank at Cycling in the South Bay.

meta

