Weeding out the grass roots

July 20, 2016 § 21 Comments

There is a new poison in the herbicide arsenal, stronger than Roundup, Banish, Barren, and TK-10 all lumped together, one so nasty and lethal that where it is poured nothing will thrive, nothing will grow, nothing will live.

We started Telo last night with our eyes glued to the fancy winner’s jersey plastered on the back of Smasher, knowing that whatever else happened, it was going to hurt us more than it hurt him, and it would be unendurable. Smasher’s race plan was simple: Smash.

His ultimate goal? Get the winner’s jersey for his teammate Derek the Destroyer, who a couple of weeks ago had officially retired as a profamateur, gained ten pounds, quit training, and places top-five now in every race he enters.

My plan was simple. Follow Smasher’s wheel, also known as Belling the Cat. Destroyer opened Lap 3 with a fierce attack, which I easily followed. All I had to do was go harder than I’ve ever gone in my life, then add ten percent. We were quickly reabsorbed. After following Destroyer around for another lap or so it seemed wise to slip farther back.

We had a large field of broken and hopeless wankers, none of whom had the slightest chance of surviving the carnage that was about to be unleashed. In a flash, just as I had settled back to check my phone and see how much money I’d lost for the day on Chinese real estate stocks, Destroyer went again and took six riders with him.

Being at the back when the winning break rolls is the stupidest feeling in the world. You watch it happen from afar, slack-jawed at your bad judgment, while all of the idiots around you either don’t know what’s happening, don’t care what’s happening, or, like me, pray to dog that someone will take the bit between his teeth and do all of the nasty work dragging you up to the split.

Then I spied Smasher, who was cheerily pedaling along, not the least concerned. “That wanker,” I said to myself. “He totally missed the split.” So I got on his wheel while a few panicked riders took turns trying to organize a chase.

[*Note to non-racers: “Organize a chase” is a fantasy concept that exists in the minds of people who think that a group of people who hate each other will work together for a common cause, cf. Republican National Convention in Cleveland.]

As we rounded Turn 4, I saw Smasher, who is British, arch his lower back slightly, tighten his grip on the drops, and push down harder on the pedals. “This is it, here comes Brexit!” I laughed to myself, jumping hard on the pedals so that I’d already have a head of steam when Smasher launched his bridge.

When Brexit came I was already accelerating, already committed, already fully prepared to follow Nigel Farrage in his destruction of the common European weal–except that I wasn’t. Smasher opened up a bike length, then two, then five, then ten, and then he was a tiny speck far, far ahead as I sagged in no-person’s-land. I don’t know how many watts he expended, but Strava says I was at my max of 253 watts, so he was putting out at least 14,000 or so.

There is a moment in every race that is decisive, which is another way of saying there is a moment in every race when everyone gives up hope, digs into their suitcase of excuses, tries several on until finding one that fits, and then takes comfort in finishing with the other losers in the fourth chase group. I slunk to the back and congratulated myself on having had the wisdom to miss the split and to choose the Wheel That Shall Not Be Followed.

However, the Brexit plot thickened. The other losers back in the EU chase group were unwilling to be losers just yet, and the breakaway lost steam as Scotland insisted it would Screxit from the UK and Scrontinue with the EU. After an eternity of riding at ridiculous speeds through cracks in turns, lapping gassed riders who would jump in, gap me out, then re-explode, after battering into the headwind where each pedal stroke felt like algebra, the incredible happened: Smasher and Boozy P. came back. Brexit was going to be put to a re-vote.

The losers took heart; the remnants of Destroyer’s break were a mere 200 yards away! They had been caught!

Except, since they were still 200 hundred yards away, they hadn’t been.

They dangled.

They teased.

They shed a couple more riders.

They were just within reach, kind of like good interest rates in someone else’s mythical portfolio.

Then, at the key moment in the race, I did what I’m known far and wide for: I cowered and hoped someone else would do for me what I was too lazy to do for myself.

No one did, and the 200 turned to 300. Fortunately, Smasher was still with us, until, of course, he wasn’t. He leaped across the windy gap in Brexit II, caught Destroyer and Steinhafel, and the three of them immediately put an entire half-lap on the twenty remaining losers, all of whom lost.

There was some sprunting for scraps, but I couldn’t be bothered to watch Destroyer pull on his first ever victory tunic, which of course he’d won in retirement. With the Union shattered and the cycling grass roots poisoned with buckets of all-kill herbicide, it was a great way to end the day. The only thing that would have made it better would have been having my new Leather Volt break down, which happily it did.

At least I’m not bitter.

Photos courtesy of Joe Yule!

13710616_10208610449795480_8624447556220940840_o

END

————————

Subscribe to this blog now! Special offer ends never! For $2.99 per month you can learn how to Brexit with the best of them. Click here and select the “subscribe” link in the upper right-hand corner. Thank you!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 21 Responses to Weeding out the grass roots

  • Brian in VA says:

    Has Phil Liggett or Paul Sherwen read your missives? There’s some stuff in here that he should be dropping into the TdF commentary that is just far more fascinating. “That wanker missed the split” delivered in crisp English tones would be awesome!

  • sibex9591 says:

    What a great British name: Nigel.

  • JunkYard says:

    Didn’t look all that bad from my vantage point! It can’t be that hard…

    • fsethd says:

      Three more inches over that curb and you would have lost most of that thing sticking up on the end of your neck!

  • Steinhafel 'ze german' says:

    Someday I hope I can have an awesome nickname like Smasher or Destroyer! My legs are still screaming at me! What a ride.

  • Man! What a fantastic post! Just great! And ya know, I probably would have liked it even more had I actually read it. But I don’t have time for that: I am here on a mission. I am here to start a grass roots effort to get Sir Lance elected president! Right, I know…

    I just figure if the country is gonna collectively jump into a handbasket, we might as well get where we are headed on bicycles! Dig it, man!

    Oh, Wanky, I have lots more to say on this, but I seem to be out of exclamation marks. !!!!! Ha ha ha I was lying about the e.m.’s…I got a million of ’em! LOL!

    Wait a sec…they’re unlocking the door…holy crap! That’s the biggest needle I ever saw in my life! Hey! Ouch! There’s something wrong with this jacket…I can’t get my arms out…

    • fsethd says:

      All that’s missing is your spam link to cheap Coach handbags and discount penis-strengthener-lengtheners!

  • hansdav says:

    “His ultimate goal? Get the winner’s jersey for his teammate Derek the Destroyer, who a couple of weeks ago had officially retired as a profamateur, gained ten pounds, quit training, and places top-five now in every race he enters.”

    Complete B.S. I happen to know Derek, and from everything I’ve heard he’s been *crushing it* on the bike.

  • Naftali says:

    Who’s the narrow person in yellow and orange on a white Giant? Does that person have all the organs and ribs we other mortals do? I’m fit and I’m twice the width.

  • Tom Paterson says:

    I was always a little uncomfortable with “suitcase of courage”.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Weeding out the grass roots at Cycling in the South Bay.

meta

