Match that quote!

September 7, 2016 § 40 Comments

Test your South Bay knowledge by matching the quote to the person!

  1. “He’s the real deal.”
  2. “Do you even race?” [to Josh Alverson]
  3. “At this point in our careers, Rahsaan and I are equal.”
  4. “If I only made half a million dollars a year I’d kill myself.”
  5. “I think I broke my elbow.”
  6. “Right on.”
  7. “Watch this!”
  8. “G.B.”
  9. “You should try cryotherapy.”
  10. “Fair enough.”
  11. “You’ll love it, it’s easy.”
  12. “We have to take a picture first.”
  13. “Sittin’ in is for suckers.”
  14. “This is a coffee ride!” [to cyclist already going so slow he’s about to fall over]
  15. “I broke my femur stretching.”
  16. “I love this shit.”
  17. “It’s going to be harder than last year.”
  18. “So there’s that.”
  19. “Fuck, dude.”
  20. “From now until December we’re noodling.”
  21. “I’m racing tomorrow.” [swings over and gaps you out]
  22. “Listen, if you have to pay $395 to go all the way to the middle of the fucking desert to get naked, do drugs, tell ‘the man’ to get bent and bang strangers while burning wooden structures, you might not be as ‘free’ as you claim. You also clearly have never been camping with me.”
  23. “He’s a $12k dreamer.”
  24. “Work together!”
  25. “No kooks.”
  26. “You’re a cupcake, dude.” [to the homicide detective who’s been in 392 fistfights and only lost one]
  27. “It’s a 55.”
  28. “Yeah, but I’ll beat you on the downhill.”
  29. “I plead guilty, your Honor.”

Shirtless Keith, Joanne Zwagermann, Roger Worthington, Amanda Marie, Elijah Shabazz, Cameron Khoury, Greg Leibert, David Wells, Jack Daugherty, Miles Irish, Charon Smith, Gregg Stern, Jay LaPlante, Russell DeBarbieris, Suzanne Sonye, Tony Manzella, Patrick Brady, David Perez, Robert Frank, Joe Yule, Kevin Phillips, Noel O’Malley, David Jaeger, Thorfinn Sassquatch, Michael Marckx, Gus Bayle, Shon Holderbaum, James Doyle, Greg Seyranian

§ 40 Responses to Match that quote!

  • dan martin says:

    Using a pen and paper to match this stuff up while sitting on the toilet with the phone on my knees is hard.

  • Worldchamp says:

    It’s hard because there are more quotes than people. Do some people get two quotes? I’m assuming you did this to protect the guilty.

    There are some names that I can definitely match the quotes throughout that helps lining it up, but there are others that I scratch my head.

    Great party game!

  • JF (PGT™) says:

    Freaking classic! ROFLMAO!

  • nslckevin says:

    My SoCal knowledge is thin, but I think I might know a few.

    3. “At this point in our careers, Rahsaan and I are equal.”
    Charon Smith

    23. “He’s a $12k dreamer.”
    Roger Worthington (Roll Labor!)

    29. “I plead guilty, your Honor.”
    Thorfinn Sassquatch

    • fsethd says:

      #23, #29, check.

    • Sausage™ says:

      #3 is not Charon, but Charon can tell you who said it. Unfortunately, it is highly unlikely that you will recognize the name, as the author of the quote is a Cat 3 racer, about Rahsaan’s age, who I don’t think has managed a podium since… well I think he won something as a junior. One of my favorite riders in the group down here though, because he always cracks me up (as evidenced by the quote).

  • Sausage™ says:

    This is an awesome game. Some suggestions for future editions:

    “If you are not fighting for the Top 10, GET OUT OF MY WAY!”
    “No kooks”
    “Ring a ding ding” [Start of every NPR Lap 4]
    “32!”
    “Duck walk”
    “Haters gonna hate. Next time try slapp’n it tha’big dawg.”
    “So I was checking the color of my stool after the ride today…”
    Any sentence containing the words “daddy” and “whiskey.”

  • Serge Issakov says:

    As a San Diegan I mostly only “know” you guys from the blog, but this one I know.

    17. “It’s going to be harder than last year.”

    MMX! (Referring to the BWR of course)

  • BC says:

    #12 “We have to take a picture first.” Joann Zwagerman
    #15 “I broke my femur stretching.” Shon Holderbaum
    #28 “Yeah, but I’ll beat you on the downhill.” Gus Bayle
    #20 “From now until December we’re noodling.” Greg Seyranian

    #10 “Fair enough.” Ron Peterson (even though he’s not on the list)

  • Trish says:

    No clue about any of the others, but for sure #12 is Joann. haha

  • Alex says:

    #26 “You’re a cupcake, dude.” – James Doyle.

  • Dave Gonyer says:

    I don’t know who said any of the quotes…but the Burning Man one is damn funny and I don’t want to camp with him unless he is a she….uh, wait…that doesn’t sound right. Hell, I am just going to burning man!

  • knoll says:

    Stern is number one. So, there’s that.

  • Sausage™ says:

    OK time for a recap. The names in BOLD have been confirmed by Seth as correct. The other names with asterisks are my guesses for the remaining unconfirmed quotes.

    1. “He’s the real deal.” GREGG STERN
    2. “Do you even race?” [to Josh Alverson] *Shirtless Keith*
    3. “At this point in our careers, Rahsaan and I are equal.” *Elijah Shabazz*
    4. “If I only made half a million dollars a year I’d kill myself.”
    5. “I think I broke my elbow.”
    6. “Right on.” *Suze Sonye*
    7. “Watch this!” *David Perez*
    8. “G.B.” *Charon Smith*
    9. “You should try cryotherapy.”
    10. “Fair enough.”
    11. “You’ll love it, it’s easy.” *Jay LaPlante*
    12. “We have to take a picture first.” JOANN ZWAGERMANN
    13. “Sittin’ in is for suckers.” *Robert Frank*
    14. “This is a coffee ride!” [to cyclist already going so slow he’s about to fall over] *Joe Yule*
    15. “I broke my femur stretching.” SHON HOLDERBAUM
    16. “I love this shit.”
    17. “It’s going to be harder than last year.” MICHAEL MARCKX
    18. “So there’s that.”
    19. “Fuck, dude.” *Kevin Philips*
    20. “From now until December we’re noodling.” GREG SEYRANIAN
    21. “I’m racing tomorrow.” [swings over and gaps you out] *Cameron Khoury*
    22. “Listen, if you have to pay $395 to go all the way to the middle of the fucking desert to get naked, do drugs, tell ‘the man’ to get bent and bang strangers while burning wooden structures, you might not be as ‘free’ as you claim. You also clearly have never been camping with me.” *Jack Daugherty*
    23. “He’s a $12k dreamer.” ROGER WORTHINGTON
    24. “Work together!” *Greg Leibert*
    25. “No kooks.” *Tony Manzella*
    26. “You’re a cupcake, dude.” [to the homicide detective who’s been in 392 fistfights and only lost one] JAMES DOYLE
    27. “It’s a 55.”
    28. “Yeah, but I’ll beat you on the downhill.” GUS BAYLE
    29. “I plead guilty, your Honor.” THORFINN SASSQUATCH

    • fsethd says:

      Back to the drawing board, wanker, on Nos. 2, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16, 18, 21, 22, 24, and 27. Good progress, though!!

      • Sausage™ says:

        Dang [name that quote!], when you include all the quotes where I didn’t have a guess, the report card sure looks awful. OK here is the updated list, what about the rest though?

        1. “He’s the real deal.” GREGG STERN
        2. “Do you even race?” [to Josh Alverson]
        3. “At this point in our careers, Rahsaan and I are equal.” ELIJAH SHABAZZ
        4. “If I only made half a million dollars a year I’d kill myself.”
        5. “I think I broke my elbow.”
        6. “Right on.”
        7. “Watch this!” DAVID PEREZ
        8. “G.B.” CHARON SMITH
        9. “You should try cryotherapy.”
        10. “Fair enough.”
        11. “You’ll love it, it’s easy.” JAY LAPLANTE
        12. “We have to take a picture first.” JOANN ZWAGERMANN
        13. “Sittin’ in is for suckers.”
        14. “This is a coffee ride!” [to cyclist already going so slow he’s about to fall over]
        15. “I broke my femur stretching.” SHON HOLDERBAUM
        16. “I love this shit.”
        17. “It’s going to be harder than last year.” MICHAEL MARCKX
        18. “So there’s that.”
        19. “Fuck, dude.” KEVIN PHILIPS
        20. “From now until December we’re noodling.” GREG SEYRANIAN
        21. “I’m racing tomorrow.” [swings over and gaps you out]
        22. “Listen, if you have to pay $395 to go all the way to the middle of the fucking desert to get naked, do drugs, tell ‘the man’ to get bent and bang strangers while burning wooden structures, you might not be as ‘free’ as you claim. You also clearly have never been camping with me.”
        23. “He’s a $12k dreamer.” ROGER WORTHINGTON
        24. “Work together!”
        25. “No kooks.” TONY MANZELLA
        26. “You’re a cupcake, dude.” [to the homicide detective who’s been in 392 fistfights and only lost one] JAMES DOYLE
        27. “It’s a 55.”
        28. “Yeah, but I’ll beat you on the downhill.” GUS BAYLE
        29. “I plead guilty, your Honor.” THORFINN SASSQUATCH

      • fsethd says:

        Some mysteries are not made to be revealed all of one fell swoop.

  • Awesome.
    I can’t even pick my quite out!!
    BUT, I do know #4!!!
    Boom!
    Miles Irish!
    Chalk it up to the ‘finished’ list Mr. sausage!

    Jack must have two!…he’s the KING of “work together”

    -$$

  • DougJ says:

    Surfer’s not on The list but I’d put him up for the camping quote or maybe mans laughter.

    I am that Kook.

  • Alan says:

    #27 Shirtless Kieth

What’s this?

You are currently reading Match that quote! at Cycling in the South Bay.

meta

